Reviews

9.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.9
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.7
Facilities
9.7
Staff
9.9
Value
9.6

Reviews

    Peter
    au

    Review score

    10
    17 June 2018

    Great apartment handy to everything

    Maria & Carlos were fantastic hosts who picked us up & took us back to the station. Lovely apartment close to upper and lower parts of town. Able to walk everywhere.
    TLund
    us

    Review score

    10
    12 June 2018

    Wonderful place to stay to feel like a local in Coimbra

    Parking was free and easy, but the location a bit of a walk from the apartment meant we were reluctant to use our car while staying. Other than that, it was a perfect stay.
    With a perfect location steps away from the Cathedral and other sights of the old city of Coimbra, this apartment was the perfect spot for our family to enjoy the city. The hosts were super friendly and helpful in getting unloaded, being made comfortable, and getting the car parked in a nearby garage. They even provided a cell phone for us to use if needed during our stay. The room itself was gorgeous with great light from outside and a wonderful balcony overlooking the city and the river that was perfect for sipping local wine at night. It made for the perfect spot to explore the town.
    EJ
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    8 June 2018

    In the heart of Coimbra with a lovely balcony

    The hosts went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. It was within easy walking distance of all the Coimbra attractions.
    Paul
    au

    Review score

    10
    7 June 2018

    Super host at Casas da Alegria

    Carlos was an exceptional host, very caring and thoughtful. He arranged for his son to pick us up at the train station and upon leaving, Carlos drove us to the station himself. The apartment was in a great location, very clean and well appointed. Carlos also gave us some beautiful pasties and wine. He treated us like family.
    Judit
    fr

    Review score

    10
    4 June 2018

    Superb apartment, great hosts, really good location.

    This was the great room in Coimbra, where the owner (Carlos Pinto, the town prefect) guided us in to the garage, loaded our luggage with his car and in took us for a quick sightseeing before dropping us in the apartment and helping with the luggage. He even left a mobile phone to speed dial him in case we needed anything. He also left us port and cake, coffee. The apartment was completely equipped – full cooking, dishwashing and washing facilities, and in a great location. If it was not for the very steep hill it would bea quick 5 minute walk to the centre of the UNESCO classed University, and closer to great restaurants and Fado places. To check out they picked us and the luggage up and took us to our car, then to their café across the street where we were offered coffee and cake whilst we checked out, Definitely 5 thumbs up!
    SeeVee
    au

    Review score

    10
    2 June 2018
    No negatives here.
    Coimbra is a great destination. This apartment is in an excellent location. Spotlessly clean, it is a well equipped apartment with great attention to detail. As a host, Maria is exceptional - most responsive and caring. Maria and Carlos personally drove us from and to the train station, while their son drove us to the clinic to see a doctor and then returned to take us back to the apartment. These superb hosts made our stay in the beautiful, fascinating Coimbra, exceptional.
    Andrea Steinberg
    nz

    Review score

    10
    2 June 2018

    Perfect accomodation, fabulous hosts

    Absolutely perfect. Warm, helpful hosts. Extremely welcoming. Spotless accomodation, beautifully appointed, in an excellent location. Highly recommended.
    Orna
    il

    Review score

    9.2
    29 May 2018
    We had to walk up quite a bit with our suitcases as the place is uphill. But the room was very nice.
    The location, the lovely owners.
    JoEllen
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    24 May 2018

    I felt right at home!

    A bit more counter space in the bathroom, but it wasn't a deal breaker by any means. Also, if you have any mobility problems there is no lift and lots of uphill walking in the town.
    Carlos and Maria went out of their way to make sure all our needs were taken care of. Maria met us at the train station and also took us there when we left. Our hosts recommended sites and restaurants. Everything was close by. Have breakfast at their cafe--outstanding coffee! We made good use of the apartment washing machine. My favorite part was sitting in the sunshine on the terrace.
    Gordon
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 May 2018

    A comfortable and well appointed apartment central to the University precinct.

    It was difficult navigating to the property but that was part of the charm.
    The property was in the University precinct and therefore central to the important sites. The room was very well appointed and comfortable with a well equipped kitchenette, dishwasher, washing machine together with washing powder sachets, dryer, and coffee making machine with coffee pods. The host and hostess were incredibly friendly and helpful.
    Donald
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 May 2018

    The best hosts we have had!

    Not a lot, but you do need to keep the windows closed to keep the noise of students out!
    Good location, well equipped and our hosts could not have been more helpful
    owen
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    10 May 2018

    Great hosts and very close to everything.

    We stayed in the upstairs apartment which was spread over 2 floors. The bedroom with a second bathroom and a large balcony is on the upper level. It's newly renovated and very clean. The hostess (Maria) is a lovely lady and she will pick you up and return you to the train station.
    de

    Review score

    10
    6 May 2018

    Nice little apartment, well equipped and perfectly located. Very friendly host.

    darren
    us

    Review score

    10
    26 April 2018

    WOW!!!!!!! WE LOVE THESE GUYS!!!!

    AMAZING! The accommodations and are hosts Carlos and Maria are most gracious people. The location makes it easy to get to everything and everywhere. We wished we could have stayed longer, and we will..super kind people. We left as true friends, and we will stay for at least a week! Amazing clean too!!!!
    Robin
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    6 June 2018

    Perfect apartment to explore Coimbra

    A bit noisy due to the upstairs apartment
    Well equipped apartment and it looked beautiful.
    Anonymous
    ca

    Review score

    10
    5 June 2018

    Best Space and Service

    Truly there was nothing I could complain about.
    Carlos is amazing. He really takes care of his guests, even providing a cell phone to call him in case of emergencies. The location is perfect, very close to the river and main square.
    Allison
    us

    Review score

    10
    24 May 2018

    Great place to stay in Coimbra.

    Garage is a walk up the hill with luggage, but hosts are very helpful. Coffee machine is a bit tricky. Turn off when amount of water desired is reached in cup.
    Wonderful apartment in a great location. Easy and close walk to all the sites. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Parking in garage was secure. Local cell phone available for any needs and contact of hosts. Washer and dryer fantastic in the apartment. We would recommend this location for this town.
    us

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2018
    Host was super nice, waiting for us when we arrived. Greeted us with a pastry and glass of port. Loved having the washer & dryer, as we were traveling for a full month!
    Robert
    us

    Review score

    10
    17 May 2018
    Nice, clean, well-equipped accommodation in an excellent location. Hosts were over-the-top to help.
    David
    au

    Review score

    10
    9 May 2018

    Absolutely delightful spacious apartment with the most wonderful of hosts.

    Stairs to the top floor - easy access but keeps you fit and views worth the climb.
    Wonderful fully equipped apartment - 2 level with private large balcony with great views. Lovely place for a quiet drink. Apartment was very central but away from hustle, great views of river and surrounding country. Great huge bed with great pillows and mattress. Hosts were absolutely wonderful - met us at train station and also dropped us off. Checked in a few times to make sure all was good. University celebrations were lively.
Loading reviews